If you have any questions not addressed in our current FAQ section please submit your question via our contact us form.

Are your shofars kosher?

A shofar needs to come from a kosher animal but not from an ox, since its horn is solid (it's a "keren" not a "shofar"). Also, the kosher animal need not be ritually slaughtered in order for its horn to be used. In terms of a source see Mishneh Berurah, on Orach Chaim, sec 586, par. 1, sub-par. 8.

Rabbi Lazer Danzinger for Chabad.org